Senate Standing Committee on Environment and Communications Answers to Senate Estimates Questions on Notice Additional Estimates Hearings February 2016 Communications Portfolio Department of Communications and the Arts

Question No: 184(a)

Communications Portfolio Hansard Ref: Written, 19/02/2016

Topic: Appointments

Senator Ludwig, Joe asked:

Since the change of Prime Minister on 14 September, 2015:

- 1. Please detail any board appointments made to date.
- 2. What is the gender ratio on each board and across the portfolio?
- 3. Has the department instigated of changed its gender ratio target and/or any other policy intended to increase the participation rate of women on boards? If yes, please specify what the target and policy is for each board.
- 4. Please specify when these gender ratio or participation policies were changed.

Answer:

1. The table below reflects the details of board appointment made to date since 14 September 2015 in the Communications and Arts portfolio as at 30 January 2016.

Board	Member	Position	Start of term	End of term
Australia Post	Mr Michael Byrne	Non-Executive Director	29/10/2015	28/10/2018
Australia Post	Mr Bruce McIver	Non-Executive Director	10/12/2015	09/12/2018
Australia Post	Ms Holly Kramer	Non-Executive Director	29/10/2015	28/10/2018
Australian Broadcasting Corporation	Dr Kristin Ferguson	Non-executive Director	12/11/2015	11/11/2020
Australian Broadcasting Corporation	Ms Donny Walford	Non-executive Director	24/11/2015	23/11/2020
Australian Communications and Media Authority	Mr Richard Bean	Deputy Chairperson	14/10/2015	13/10/2017
Classification Board	Ms Lesley O'Brien	Director	01/01/2016	30/06/2016
NBN Co Limited	Dr Kerry Schott	Non-Executive Director	28/09/2015	05/10/2018
NBN Co Limited	Ms Shirley In't Veld	Non-Executive Director	02/12/2015	01/12/2018
Copyright Tribunal of Australia	Dr Rhonda Smith	Member	12/12/2015	11/12/2017
Australian Children's Television Foundation Board	Ms Feyi Akindoyeni	Director Commonwealth Representative	21/01/2016	20/01/2019
Australian Children's Television Foundation Board	Mr Daryl Karp	Director (Commonwealth Representative)	21/01/2016	20/01/2019

Senate Standing Committee on Environment and Communications

Answers to Senate Estimates Questions on Notice

Additional Estimates Hearings February 2016

Communications Portfolio

Department of Communications and the Arts

Board	Member	Position	Start of term	End of term
Australian Children's Television Foundation Board	Ms Catriona Hughes	Director (Commonwealth Representative)	21/01/2016	20/01/2019
Creative Partnerships Australia Board	Ms Carol Schwartz AM	Chair	16/12/2015	15/12/2018
Council of the National Gallery of Australia	Mr Allan Myers AO QC	Chair	15/10/2015	14/10/2018
Board of the National Portrait Gallery of Australia	Mr Alan Dodge AM	Member	21/01.2016	20/01/2019
Creative Partnerships Australia Board	Mr Dan Rosen	Director	16/12/2015	15/12/2018
National Cultural Heritage Committee	Dr Patrick Greene	Chair	21/01/2016	21/01/2018
National Cultural Heritage Committee	Ms Anne-Marie Schwirtlich	Member	21/01/2016	21/01/2018
National Cultural Heritage Committee	Mr Tim Sullivan	Member	21/01/2016	21/01/2018
National Cultural Heritage Committee	Ms Margie West AM	Member	21/01/2016	21/01/2018
National Cultural Heritage Committee	Mr Joseph Eisenberg OAM	Member	21/01/2016	21/01/2018
National Cultural Heritage Committee	Professor Duncan Chappell	Member	21/01/2016	21/01/2018
National Cultural Heritage Committee	Dr Graeme Were	Member	21/01/2016	21/01/2018
National Cultural Heritage Committee	Professor Suzanne Miller	Member	21/01/2016	21/01/2018

2. The following table reflects the gender ratio as at 30 January 2016. Non-Government appointments (Managing director positions ABC, Australia Post and the Staff elected position on the ABC Board) are excluded from the gender ratio statistics.

Board	Gender Ratio		
Australia Post Board	6 Male: 2 Female		
Australian Broadcasting Corporation Board	3 Male: 4 Female (Managing Director and staff-elected position are not Government appointments)		
Australian Communications and Media Authority	4 Male: 2 Female		
NBN Co Limited Board	5 Male: 2 Female		
Special Broadcasting Service	4 Male: 4 Female (Managing Director is not a Government appointment)		
Children's e-Safety Commissioner	1 Male		
Classification Board	2 Male: 4 Female		
Classification Review Board	3 Male: 2 Female		

Senate Standing Committee on Environment and Communications

Answers to Senate Estimates Questions on Notice

Additional Estimates Hearings February 2016

Communications Portfolio

Department of Communications and the Arts

Board	Gender Ratio	
Copyright Tribunal of Australia	2 Male: 3 Female	
Regional Telecommunications Independent	1 Male: 3 Female	
Review Committee		
Australian Film, Television and Radio School	1 Male	
Council		
Screen Australia Board	3 Male: 3 Female	
Australian Children's Television Foundation		
Board 3 Female		
Old Parliament House Advisory Council	5 Male: 2 Female	
National Museum of Australia Council	5 Male: 3 Female	
Australian National Maritime Museum Council	6 Male: 1 Female	
National Library of Australia Council	6 Male: 5 Female	
National Gallery of Australia Council	8 Male: 2 Female	
National Film and Sound Archive Board	3 Male: 2 Female	
National Portrait Gallery of Australia Board	3 Male: 3 Female	
Bundanon Trust Board	3 Male: 3 Female	
Australia Council Board	6 Male: 5 Female	
Creative Partnerships Australia Board	3 Male: 5 Female	
Indigenous Repatriation Advisory Committee	4 Male: 2 female	
National Cultural Heritage Committee	5 Male: 3 Female	
Film Certification Advisory Board	2 Male: 1 Female	
Public Lending Right Committee	4 Female	

3. No.

4. Not applicable.